Q10014 - After I delete a file, other users can still see it in their local workspaces, why?
In Firefly, we use local workspace oriented development model instead of server
view model. What is a local workspace? It is an isolated and private working
area corresponding to its parent branch in Firefly server.
The core idea of local workspace is to keep your
working area isolated, and more organized. When you are working on a set of
files which have dependencies, for example, a C++, Java project, you want to
work in a local workspace mode.
In a teamwork environment, to prevent others from interfering your work, you
need keep a private sandbox to hold everything in the project. In a local
workspace, you can compile, build your private release, do testing.
This is the isolation in the sense of per engineer level. You can use Firefly
Branch to isolate development streams in the stream level.
Local workspaces may be out-of-date. You need keep your local workspace
up-to-date by executing 'Firefly Bringover' in your local workspace.
After you delete a file in your local workspace, and submit it to server, the
file is deleted in the parent branch. But if other users don't run 'Firefly
Bringover', this change will not be applied to their local workspaces.
That's why other users may still be able to see this file in their local
To bringover changes from parent branch, here is how:
Firefly Client GUI
Click menu 'Workspace->Bringover', the bringover dialog pops up, then
you can follow the instruction on the dialog.